Skip to content

Dark Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake Brownies

September 24, 2007

 

 

 

 

A tall, cold glass of milk is in order for these brownies. They are very easy to make (boxed brownie mix) and so very good! Eating them right out the oven as my friends and I did is best. They are warm and gooey and oh so delicious. I refrigerated a few brownies overnight as well just to see how that would taste and while I definitely prefer them warm, cold was equally good. These are very dense brownies and really turn into more of a bar once in the frig.

 

 I used boxed brownie mix as I was pressed for time but really only recommend one brand. The Trader Joe’s Chocolate Truffle Brownie Mix is the next best thing to made from scratch brownie batter, I think. Most people cannot tell the difference and I always get tons of compliments!

 

You’ll Need

1 9×13 baking pan, buttered

 

Ingredients

2 boxes of Trader Joe’s Chocolate Truffle Brownie mix, prepared according to directions

1/3 cup raspberry preserves

1 cup cheesecake batter

 

For cheesecake batter – adapted from Epicurious.com

8 ounces cream cheese, well softened

1/3 cup sugar –  (I started with 1/8 cup sugar and then added a spoonful at a time until I got the desired sweetness. The brownies and the jam make this a rich dessert so you don’t need an overly sweet cheesecake batter)

1 large egg yolk

1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract (I used vanilla bean paste)

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix the cheesecake ingredients together with a whisk until any lumps disappear. Try not to overly beat/mix the cheesecake batter. Set aside.

Pour the brownie batter into the buttered baking dish. Spread evenly so the brownies will be the same thickness when baked.

Carefully spread the raspberry preserves over the batter. I find that if I put several dollops of jam over different parts of the batter it’s easier to spread than if I just poured it all at once and tried to spread it that way. Also, if the jam has been in the fridge you can microwave it for about 15 seconds. It will spread more easily. A small spatula works really for this.

Next, CAREFULLY pour the cheesecake batter over the jam layer. I poured it in long pouring motions up and down the length of the pan. Using the spatula, I gently spread the batter until it’s spread evenly over the jam. The thickness of the cheesecake layer is up to you…I personally prefer about 1/4 inch or less. Again, these are pretty rich so more cheesecake might be over the top. Basically it’s your preference. If you do a thicker layer I would suggest covering the top of the pan with foil halfway through cooking to prevent the cheesecake from browning too much.

With a butter knife gently make swirl patterns over the cheesecake. Push down with the knife so you just reach the top of the brownie batter. You’ll get a marbled effect. Try to not swirl too much or you’ll end up with pink cheesecake batter!!!

Bake at in the oven at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.

You can see from my picture that the top browned alot so if you don’t mind that no problem. Or you can use the foil trick I mentioned.

Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2007 4:36 pm

    These look fantastic!! And how I wish we had a Trader Joe’s here…

  2. Stacy permalink
    September 25, 2007 10:31 pm

    It’s about time you updated with a new recipe!
    You know I love to back so I will be baking these real soon!!! I will hit up Trader Joes this weekend for sure. I haven’t been in a while so it is time.
    I’m glad you made it back safely from your trip, we need to see the pictures. Oh and by the way, I’m hungry for salsa now! Thanks a lot little Miss Sunshine!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

