Skip to content

Zucchini Madness

June 8, 2007

 

stuffed_zucchiniii_06_07_07.jpg 

 

It’s zucchini time!! My girlfriend Sarah and I cooked dinner last night (roasted chicken, yumm!) and this recipe was my contribution. The zucchini’s are fresh from her garden (picked literally right before we started cooking, how awesome is that!!). You really can’t tell from this pic but they were monster sized zucchini’s. They squeak in your mouth when you eat them!! No chemicals here, that’s what you get when you have garden fresh veggies! She has zucchini’s a plenty so stay tuned for more zucchini recipes. I’m going to try to post more….next week…a possible zucchini quiche.

 

I first learned this recipe when I took a cooking class at the Ojai Culinary School at the Lavendar Inn in Ojai, CA. I’ve tweaked it a bit because I wanted a more intense flavor (gotta love tomato paste!). So thanks to Ellen Sherwood for her wonderful teaching style and great ideas.

 

 

Ingredients

1 large eggplant

1 large red onion

2 large red bellpeppers

4-5 cloves of garlic

3-4 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

Sea Salt

Freshly ground black pepper

3 tbsp. tomato paste

4 medium sized zucchini or 3 large

1/4 cup parmesan cheese, freshly grated

 

You’ll Need

1 bakers half sheet

Food processor or blender

Melon baller or spoon

 

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Dice the eggplant, onion and bell pepper. Try to keep them all the same size so they roast evenly, about 1/4-1/2 inch size pieces. Coarsely chop the garlic. Spread out the vegetables on the baking sheet and season with salt and pepper. Pour the olive oil over the vegetables and using your hands, mix everything together. Spread out evenly in the pan and roast in the oven for approx. 15-20 minutes. You’ll know they are done when the vegetables are very soft and are reduced to about half the amount.

In the meantime, cut your zucchini into halves and using a melon baller or spoon, scoop out the center, making a sort of trench down the center. Parboil the zucchini in a large stockpot for about 2-5 minutes, it basically depends on how firm/soft you like your zucchini and what size they are. After the vegetables are done roasting, turn down the oven temp. to 350 degrees F.

 

In a food processor, add the veggies and tomato paste. Pulse until you get the consistency you desire. I usually prefer the filling to have some texture so I pulse it a good 5 or 6 times so that it’s relatively smooth but there are still some veggie bits when you bite into it. Scoop the filling into the zucchini, sprinke with cheese and warm in the oven until you are ready to serve.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2007 8:06 pm

    Sounds great! And really looking forward to seeing some zucchini quiche! I was on a zucchini quiche kick last summer and made it quite a few times! I actually have a ton of zucchini in the fridge right now that I need to use up. I’m thinking maybe some zucchini bread.

  2. Miss Haden permalink
    June 11, 2007 6:22 pm

    The leftovers didn’t squeak but they were just as good as the night we made em. So I went to the store and got the stuff for quiche and my plants need to be picked…what day?

  3. Ken K permalink
    June 18, 2007 8:27 pm

    This looks like a recipe that could be adapted for omnivores or vegetarians who need some protein by adding cooked ground beef or (my favorite) Quorn to make either a heartier appetizer/side course or a small meal.

    I don’t think our farm share has given us zukes yet, so we will try this out when we get them.

  4. June 28, 2007 10:34 pm

    Welcome to the world of food blogging! I’m glad to have found your site and I look forward to seeing what else you whip up.

    Have you got eggplant ideas? They’re coming out of my ears right now in the garden, and we’ve been eating them every other night. I think this summer will be the summer of eggplant recipes for me.

Leave a Reply

