Skip to content

Pretty Green Basil

June 11, 2007

 

 

pretty_green-basil.jpg

 

 

I’m attracted to all things green.

That is probably why I like to spend money so much. Ha ha!

Anyways, look at my pretty, pretty basil plant. So pretty that I made some bruschetta yesterday. So simple but very, very tasty. I didn’t take any pics of the bread because I ATE IT ALL!!!!

 

 

Simple Tomato Bruschetta Topping

 

 

This is a great starter to a meal. It’s great for a dinner party because it looks gorgeous, tastes great, and takes very little time to make and the guests can pretty much serve themselves. You don’t have to worry about keeping this warm because it tastes best at room temperature. It’s very fresh and light tasting so it’s not too filling….see my point??? I prefer this recipe to all other bruschetta recipes I’ve tried so far because of the balsamic vinegar. You can use your bread to sop up all the lovely juices. Yumm!!!

 

 

Ingredients

5-6 Roma tomatoes

1 small red onion

4 cloves garlic (large)

1 cup basil leaves

1/4 cup olive oil

3-4 tbsp. balsamic vinegar

Kosher salt

Freshly ground black pepper

 

 

Directions

Coarsely chop the all the ingredients and put in a bowl. Add half of the olive oil and all of the balsamic vinegar. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Add more oil if needed so that you have a nice ratio of chunky vegetables to liquid. Serve with a toasted, sliced baguette or sourdough bread.

Enjoy!!!

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 13, 2007 3:39 pm

    Your basil plant is so big!! I have planted mine from seed and it is coming along nicely, but not nearly this big!!

    I’ve just found your blog – I am a food blog addict!! I will be checking back – that zucchini recipe looks fantastic!

Leave a Reply

