Skip to content

Vanilla Pound Cake with Three Citrus Glaze

June 18, 2007

 

 

cake33.jpg

 

Don’t you love it when a you let your imagination run a bit and whatever you cook comes out great??? This doesn’t always happen to me….I created a very “imaginative” tasting sausage, broccoli and cheese breakfast strata the other day that went straight into the trash (the word “horrid” comes to mind). 😦

 

So, imagine my surprise when I whipped up something from scratch, using ingredients that were all on hand, and it came out great???

 

This is a great tasting poundcake. I used a syrup (poured over the cake and soaked it overnight) and a glaze so the cake is extra moist and very citrusy. If you are looking for a great basic poundcake recipe, this will do and it’s easily modified. You can leave out all the citrus or make it even more citrusy by adding lemon zest or even lemon oil, substitute almond extract for the vanilla,  maybe add poppyseeds or sliced almonds….there are so many possibilites!! 

 

So here’s the story……while shopping at Trader Joe’s sometime last week I was drawn to a bin of fragant ruby red grapefruit. I normally don’t eat grapefruit, not sure why, I just never really eat it. They looked and smelled delicious but even then I only bought one. I brought it to work with me the next day, intending to eat it as a snack but, for some reason, I never ate it. Instead, I just kept picking it up and smelling it. The fragance was very strong and calming, I couldn’t seem to put it down! So, I kept it at my desk for several days, inhaling the wonderful aroma. Then, inspired by this strangely hypnotic grapefruit, an idea began to form in my mind.

 

Since I love poundcake and my favorite is usually a lemon glazed poundcake it didn’t take me long wonder how a grapefruit glazed poundcake would taste. I’m sure that this has been thought of before but it was a new idea to me so why not try it? Once I got started on the glaze though I realized I didn’t have enough juice for the syrup and the glaze so I added the juice of an orange and a lime. This was definitely an experiment but the combination of all three fruits tasted surprisingly good.

 

So here it is. My recipe for Vanilla Pound Cake with Three Citrus Glaze. Try it out and let me know what you think!

 

Vanilla Bean Pound Cake

 

Ingredients

 

2 1/2 cups sugar

1 cup butter (softened)

2 1/2 teaspoons vanilla paste

5 large eggs

3 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup evaporated milk

 

Directions

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour all sides of a 12-cup fluted cake pan.

Beat sugar, butter, vanilla and eggs on high for five minutes until color becomes a pale yellow. Mix flour, baking powder and salt together. Beat flour mixture into sugar mixture, alternating between 1 cup of flour mixture and 1/3 cup condensed milk until it is all combined into a smooth consistency.

Pour into pan and bake for 1 hour or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

 

Citrus Syrup and Glaze

 

Ingredients

 

1 large grapefruit

1 medium orange

1 small lime

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 1/2 cups powdered sugar 

 

Juice the fruit and strain to remove any pulp. You should have about 1 cup of juice. Reserve any extra for another use.

 

For the syrup

 

Combine the granulated sugar and 1/2 cup of juice in a small saucepan over medium heat. Stir until sugar is dissolved and you have a light syrup. Keep warm and set aside.

 

For the glaze

 

Whisk 1/2 cup of the juice with the powdered sugar until you have a thick glaze. It should be thin enough to be pourable but not too runny either. 

 

With the cake still inside the pan, using a ice pick or something similar, poke deep holes all over the bottom and sides of the cake. Pour the syrup over the cake and let sit for a few hours. Once the syrup is absorbed unmold the cake from the pan and place on a cooling rack. Pour the glaze over the top of the cake and let it drip over the sides.  Let the glaze dry for about 20 minutes then serve.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 13, 2007 9:29 pm

    What a lovely cake! Vanilla and citrus flavors in a pound cake are heavenly. I’m putting it on my list…

Leave a Reply

