Skip to content

Eggs w/Herbs de Provence and Asparagus

June 29, 2007

 

 

eggs-de-provence-6-29-07.jpg

 

 

I’m back from my mini blog break!! June is always a crazy month for me. Grandma’s birthday, Mom’s birthday, Father’s Day, parent’s anniversary, friends’ birthdays and graduations too. So while my bank account has seen better days, I’ve been able to stay at home a few nights to do some cooking and do have some recipes to share! 

 

The other night I was craving breakfast for dinner which was a dilemma since I don’t really like breakfast!!! I know, I know…EVERYBODY likes breakfast. I can eat it for lunch or dinner but I don’t like breakfasty foods in the morning. Or maybe I should clarify – brioche and jam, maybe a cup of tea, or a chocolate croissant and some fruit…..now that’s a breakfast! Scrambled eggs, pancakes, bacon, fried potatoes, omelettes etc….just not really my thing. Probably because I’m not a morning person and my stomach takes awhile to wake up (along with the rest of me). There is ONE exception though….I will eat this kind of food in the morning when it is liberally doused with one of the following:  Tabasco, Tapatillo or Chalula (if you live in Southern California, you get this…lol). Anyway, I decided to try an egg scramble using asparagus that I had on hand and it turned out much better than expected! I added the yogurt  toasts on a whim and they were a really nice complement to the eggs…this turned out to be a pretty good dinner!!

 

 

Ingredients:

4 eggs

3 tbsp. greek yogurt

1 tsp. herbs de provence

Salt

Freshly ground black pepper

1 pat of butter

2 tbsp.  fresh chives 

 

Directions:

In a saute pan over medium heat, melt the butter. Whisk the eggs, yogurt, herbs de provence, and salt and pepper in a small bowl and pour in the pan. Cook until the eggs are scrambled to the consistency you prefer. Sprinkle the chives over the eggs and serve.

 

Yogurt Toasts

2 slices  toasted whole wheat bread

1 tbsp. greek style yogurt

1 tsp. chives

 

Directions:

Spread the toasts with the yogurt and sprinkle the chives on top.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

