Skip to content

Humpty Dumpty….

July 4, 2007

 

had such a great fall that I had no choice but to make deviled eggs out of him (and his friends too)!

 

 

dozen_eggs.jpg

 

The eggs really are the star of this recipe. I bought these organic, free-range, farm fresh eggs from my local farmer’s market. There is something about fresh eggs…for one thing, the yolks are orange and not yellow like the eggs from the grocery store. They just taste different. Kind of like the hugely enormous taste difference between tomatoes grown in your garden and the ones you buy at Vons/Safeway/Ralphs.

 

I love deviled eggs and my standby recipe includes mayo, yellow mustard, vinegar, salt/pepper and lot’s of sweet pickle relish. I make them this way all the time and I never get tired of eating them. I have plenty of fresh basil around as my plant is doing extremely well, so I need to find some creative ways to use it. Basil tastes good in pretty much anything in my opinion so why not deviled eggs? I made these the other night and I even ate the leftover mixture as a “dip” with Flaming Hot Cheetos. Delicious.  

 

And hey…. about the cheetos…..don’t knock it till you try it. 🙂

 

 

four_eggs_vibrant_green.jpg

 

Ingredients

6 hardboiled eggs

1 small to medium shallot, finely chopped

4 leaves fresh basil, finely chopped

3 heaping tbsp. mayonnaise 

2 tsp. vinegar

1 tsp. sweet pickle juice (or 2 tsp. sweet pickle relish)

Kosher salt

2 tbsp. chopped fresh chives for garnish

 

Directions

Cut the eggs in half, lengthwise, and GENTLY scoop out the yolks into a small bowl. Set the 12 egg halves aside until ready to fill.

Using a fork, gently mash the yolks until you have small crumbs. Mix in remaining ingredients except for chives and salt. Taste and add salt to your preference. Using a small spoon, gently fill each egg half with the mixture until you have filled each one completely but not so much that they fall over.

Chill for 30 minutes to allow the flavors to blend. Arrange on a platter and garnish with chives. Serve.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

